Books I Want To Read (list)

I’ve been collecting a list of books that look interesting to me which I eventually would love to read. I included an Amazon link to each of these books as well as quotes all taken from Goodreads:

  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close: Jonathan Safran Foer
    • “Why didn’t I learn to treat everything like it was the last time. My greatest regret was how much I believed in the future.”
  • The Wrath and the Dawn: Renee Ahdieh
    • “This dangerous girl. This captivating beauty. This destroyer of worlds and creator of wonder.”
  • The Girl on the Train: Paula Hawkins
    • “The holes in your life are permanent. You have to grow around them, like tree roots around concrete; you mould yourself through the gaps.”
  • What If?: Randall Munroe
    • “They say there are no stupid questions. That’s obviously wrong; I think my question about hard and soft things, for example, is pretty stupid. But it turns out that trying to thoroughly answer a stupid question can take you to some pretty interesting places.”
  • What is Not Yours is Not Yours: Helen Oyeyemi
    • “It was the usual struggle between one who loves by accepting burdens and one who loves by refusing to be one.”
  • Monster: Walter Dean Meyers
    • “My job is to make sure the law works for you as well as against you, and to make you a human being in the eyes of the jury.”
  • Speak: Laurie Halse Anderson
    • “I have survived. I am here. Confused, screwed up, but here. So, how can I find my way? Is there a chain saw of the soul, an ax I can take to my memories or fears?”
  • Song of Achilles: Madeline Miller
    • “I could recognize him by touch alone, by smell; I would know him blind, by the way his breaths came and his feet struck the earth. I would know him in death, at the end of the world.”
  • Eleanor and Park: Rainbow Rowell
    • Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”
  • A Monster Calls: Patrick Ness
    • “You do not write your life with words…You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.”
  • The Girls: Emma Cline
    • “You wanted things and you couldn’t help it, because there was only your life, only yourself to wake up with, and how could you ever tell yourself what you wanted was wrong?”
  • November 9: Colleen Hoover
    • “When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go. You can’t just walk away from it and expect it to linger until you’re ready for it.”
  • The Martian: Andy Weir
    • “They say once you grow crops somewhere, you have officially ‘colonised’ it. So technically, I colonised Mars. In your face, Neil Armstrong!”
One thought on “Books I Want To Read (list)

Leave a Reply

